[asterisk-users] Phishing attempt

Igor Hernandez emistz at gmail.com
Wed Nov 5 12:15:57 CST 2008

I received it also.

Roderick A. Anderson wrote:
> John Todd wrote:
>> On Nov 5, 2008, at 7:26 AM, Roderick A. Anderson wrote:
>>> FYI/Heads up,
>>> I /just/ received what looks like a phishing attempt for information
>>> about Open Source PBX usage.  It says it comes from Digium but all the
>>> links (including the one for digium.com) point elsewhere.
>>> Rod
>> Rod -
>>    It's a "legitimate" mail from Digium.   We're trying to use the  
>> tools that others have built instead of building our own systems, so  
>> this particular company that we've chosen for research collection has  
>> their own hosts outside of the Digium DNS and server structure.   
>> Myself, I'm a big fan of Google Docs but they do have some  
>> shortcomings (like also not being in our DNS or server structure) and  
>> not everyone uses the same tools here at Digium.   "There's more than  
>> one way to do it", as goes one of the more famous Asterisk sayings.
>>    Sorry if that message you received seemed unusual or unexpected  
>> because of the URL format.  You can opt-out at the bottom of the  
>> emailings in the future if you wish, though some of the data that  
>> we're collecting will be tangentally useful in promoting OSS Asterisk  
>> in various forms.  And to proactively answer the next question that  
>> may come up from someone:  We've _never_ used the asterisk-* mailing  
>> list for any direct marketing email input lists.  In other words:  
>> whatever email address you've used for the asterisk-* lists is  
>> private, and Digium never uses those for marketing purposes.
> Thanks for the info John.  I figured the addresses used on the lists 
> were _private_.  And if memory serves my correct when I did a download 
> a few month ago I gave my email address and an OK to contact me.  The 
> breaking point was the digium.com link.
> Rod

More information about the asterisk-users mailing list